HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

Alice Cooper's "Detroit Stories" gets February release date

By Gary Graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

» See more SOUND CHECK

Alice Cooper will be telling his "Detroit Stories" in the new year.

The Detroit-born shock rocker has announced a Feb. 26 release for "Detroit Stories," an album he's been working on, primarily at Rustbelt Studios in Royal Oak, since 2018. Produced by longtime Cooper cohort Bob Ezrin, it follows his 2019 EP "Breadcrumbs," culled from the same sessions, while a new single -- a cover of the Velvet Underground's "Rock 'n' Roll," also recorded by Mitch Ryder & Detroit -- comes out Friday, Nov. 13.

Several Detroit musicians are part of the album, including MC5 co-founder Wayne Kramer, Detroit Wheels drummer Johnny "Bee" Badanjek, Paul Randolph and the Motor City Horns.

In a statement, Cooper recalled bringing his band from Los Angeles to Detroit in 1970 to find a sympathetic audience. "After not fitting in anywhere in the U.S., musically or image wise, Detroit was the only place that recognized the Alice Cooper guitar driven, hard rock sound and our crazy stage show," he recalled. Detroit was a haven for the outcasts. And when they found out I was born in East Detroit...we were home."

The 15-track set includes the "Breadcrumbs" covers as well as originals. It comes in a variety of packages, including a box set that includes the concert video "A Paranormal Evening at the Olympia Paris," a T-shirt, face mask, torch light and stickers.

Shut down from touring like everyone else in the music industry, Cooper has not announced any live shows yet. Earlier this year he lamented that "our tour was at its peak...sharp as a knife every night" and acknowledged he's not sure when he'll be able to resume. "I think there'll be about 30 percent of people afraid to go to concerts," he said, "and the other 70 percent can't wait to go to concerts. But a lot of people will be afraid. Nobody's ever going to want to go to a concert again, with all the people there. It's a very weird time."

The full track list for "Detroit Stories" includes:

1. Rock Ďní Roll

2. Go Man Go (Album Version)

3. Our Love Will Change The World

4. Social Debris

5. $1000 High Heel Shoes

6. Hail Mary

7. Detroit City 2021 (Album Version)

8. Drunk And In Love

9. Independence Dave

10. I Hate You

11. Wonderful World

12. Sister Anne (Album Version)

13. Hanging On By A Thread (Donít Give Up)

14. Shut Up And Rock

15. East Side Story (Album Version)

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration