HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

Mike Posner drops new mixtape as walk across America hits California

By Gary graff
ggraff@medianewsgroup.com, @GraffonMusic on Twitte

» See more SOUND CHECK

After dropping a couple of new tracks in recent weeks during his walk across America, Mike Posner has dropped an entire new mixtape.

The 16-track "Keep Going" -- Posner's mantra for the walk -- came out Wednesday, Oct. 9, as Posner celebrated his arrival in California. It begins with a spoken introduction in which the Southfield-raised Birmingham Groves High School graduate requests that listeners shut off all devices and listen to the set all the way through and includes collaborations with Wiz Khalifa, Ty Dolla $ign, Talib Kweli and Logic.

There are also spoken messages from his mother, P. Diddy, Aerosmith's Steven Tyler, Uncle Bun B and E-40, while the closing track, "A Lonely Night in Mexico Thinking About Big Sean and Avicii" pays tribute to a couple of his close musical friends.

Posner began his 2,833-mile walk from New Jersey to California on April 15 and has been documenting it extensively via social media -- including a 20-day break after being bitten by a rattlesnake on Aug. 8 in Colorado. His home town stop included a May 29 solo acoustic performance at the City Theatre inside Detroit's Hockeytown cafe. He plans to finish the adventure soon in Venice Beach, Calif.

During the walk Posner also launched Go Fund Me campaign to start a college fund for the two daughters of his close friend Ronnie Nelson Posey II, who passed away during March. The campaign has so far raised more than $51,000 of its $100,000 goal.

The full track list for the "Keep Going" mixtape includes:

01 Introduction

02 Come Home

03 Noah's Ark

04 Sage Wisdom from P. Diddy

05 Look What I've Become (featuring Ty Dolla $ign)

06 Prince Akeem (featuring Wiz Khalifa)

07 God's Lottery

08 Sage Wisdom from Steven Tyler

09 Nothing Is Wrong

10 Legacy (with Talib Kweli)

11 Fun Up Here (featuring Logic)

12 Sage Wisdom from Uncle Bun B and E-40

13 Slow It Down

14 Amen

15 Sage Wisdom from Mom

16 A Lonely Night in Mexico Thinking About Big Sean and Avicii

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration