HOME SOUNDcheck GOhear GOview GOread GOplaces DOmore


  » Contact Us
  » Advertise With Us

  » Classifieds
  » Newspaper Ads

Guitar hero Dick Wagner puts his book online

for Journal Register Newspapers

» See more SOUND CHECK

After more than four decades of making music, Dick Wagner has plenty of stories. And he remembers them.

The Michigan-born guitarist and songwriter — leader of the Bossmen, the Frost and Ursa Major as well as a sideman for Alice Cooper and Lou Reed, among others — has just published his memoir, “Not Only Women Bleed: Vignettes From the Heart of a Rock Musician” — as an ebook, available for Amazon’s Kindle. The volume, edited by Susan Michelson and featuring a foreword by Cooper, features dips into Wagner’s life for his experiences with all of the above as well as session work for Aerosmith and KISS and early meetings with Little Richard, Les Paul, B.B. King and Roy Orbison.

Wagner, who now lives in Arizona, also addresses his near-fatal heart attack and stroke in 2007, as well as a 2010 blood clot in his brain.

The Amazon digital version of the book retails for $9.99. Wagner hopes to publish the book in a hardbound edition later this year.

Send your thoughts and comments to Gary Graff


GO & DO Michigan, an Entertainment Portal
This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed without the written permission of the copyright holder.

© Copyright MediaNews Group, Inc. | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy | Cookie Policy | Arbitration